Nirvana: Nevermind the last 20 years

I can’t believe it’s October already… Halloween just around the corner and then the countdown to Christmas… Speaking of “I can’t believe” moments and on the back of the Pearl Jam anniversary, I also can’t believe it’s been 20 years since Nirvana’s massive Nevermind album was released!

Another big one from my early years (yeah I was a proper grunge head) this album brings back many crazy memories. Not to mention of course that the late Kurt Cobain was a fellow left handed strummer!

Ask any long haired 90’s grunger and they’ll tell you Smells Like Teen Spirit and Come As You Are are the standout tracks, but my personal favorite has always been Lithium. Cobain’s drawn out, haunting, almost self loathing lyrics backed by that melodic Novoselic bassline.


Twenty years on, the grunge scene is all but dead, but certainly not forgotten with the anniversary edition of Nevermind shooting into the Top 5 album charts! Now, I’m going to throw on a dirty old chequered flannelette shirt, crank up the volume on some Nirvana and mosh out like crazy in my imaginary pit.

Oh well, whatever, nevermind…

2 Comments

Filed under Music

2 responses to “Nirvana: Nevermind the last 20 years

  1. Whoops! Probably should have waited until I got home before rocking out to some Heart Shaped Box. I forgot it was opening evening here…

  2. Pingback: Come As You Are | ukulefty's blog

Leave a Reply

