Purple Haze – Jimi Hendrix

I’ve been an avid Jimi Henxdirx fan since forever. I used to listen to my Dad’s record collection for hours and rock out to the likes of All Along The Watchtower, Voodo Chile, Hey Joe and of course the epic Purple Haze.

I’ve always dreamed of being able to shred phychadelic face melting solos on the guitar like the legendary Hendrix, but alas it’s the ukulele for me, haha! Here’s my very rough version I recorded earlier. I know there’s a few mistakes, fret changes and string bending, but I’m not perfect and it’s all cool…

I got the tabs for this version over on ukulele tabs dot com (blehh). While a ukulele, or more to the point my ukulele playing, could never do Jimi’s guitar licks any justice, I think it does sound fairly close.

The A chord used is the same shape as a standard G but two frets up.

A||–4–||
E||–5–||
C||–4–||
G||–0–||

Jimi’s original: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6xTfFm5kol4

1 Comment

Filed under Chords & Tabs, Uke Videos

One response to “Purple Haze – Jimi Hendrix

  1. If you love Jimi Hendrix, and it seems that you do, check out this app review about the Jimi Hendrix Experience app! It’s a revolutionary “appumentary.” https://www.therecapp.com/apps/jimi_hendrix_the_complete_experience/

Leave a Reply

